• Special Needs Soccer Association

  • Donate Today

    Help out Haiti

  • News and Notes

  • Our August 2nd Podcast

AC signs Tim Velten

In addition to adding native Steve Ralston last week, AC St. Louis announced the addition of fellow St. Louis-area native Tim Velten to the team. Velten was raised in Webster Groves, Mo., where he played four years for Webster Groves High School.

Velten also played for the prestigious Busch Soccer Club and Scott Gallagher Soccer Club before enrolling in college. From there, he would enroll at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, where he would play two years at SIUE. For his junior and senior years, he would play at the University of Louisville.

Velten, now 26 years old went pro in 2007, and since that time he has played for the Harrisburg City Islanders, the Charleston Battery and most recently the Rochester Rhinos.

“I am ecstatic to be coming home to St. Louis to play professional soccer,” said Velten. “It has always been my dream to play in my hometown in front of my family and friends, and it is certainly an honor to be playing for AC St. Louis.

“I know everyone is excited that St. Louis now has a team, and for me to be a part of it from the ground up is an amazing opportunity. I want to thank everyone who helped me to get where I am; my parents, all my coaches, and my friends. I’m excited about our fans,  our stadium, and winning soccer games.  I can’t wait for the season to get started.”

So, Tim, welcome back home!

Leave a Reply

