• Special Needs Soccer Association

  • Donate Today

    Help out Haiti

  • News and Notes

  • Our August 2nd Podcast

Luke Kreamalmeyer: Exciting Times for an ‘Old’ Pro

Luke

These are exciting times for AC St. Louis’ Luke Kreamalmeyer.  The twenty -seven year old from Edwardsville  has been playing professional soccer since 2005, and is an ‘old’ pro compared to many of his young teammates.  Still, the upcoming April opening of a new season in his hometown isn’t the only reason the veteran is excited.

Luke and wife Corrine are expecting their first child April 9th.  “My family and friends were all really excited that we will be staying home this season,” said Luke.  ” I have two sisters that are also married, and both of my sisters have had babies this past year so its fun that we’re all having kids around the same time.” 

Luke began playing soccer at the age of 4, when his father signed him up for a local YMCA team.  After graduating from Edwardsville High School, Luke chose to attend Bradley University, just two hours from home.  At Bradley, Luke ” learned a lot about my game. It helped me improve a lot and be a smarter player,” he said.  He was also named to the All Missouri Valley Conference team his junior and senior year, and ended up his college career with 26 goals and 20 assists.

Luke’s success at Bradley earned him an invitation to the 2005 MLS combine.  “I was just happy being invited to the combine, which had the best 80 college soccer players,” he continued. “But, to be voted the MVP was a great accomplishment. That helped me get drafted  by Real Salt Lake.”  Real Salt Lake was his ” first experience as a pro. I was very excited to start my career. It was big step up from college. I started the season very well but the last half of the season wasn’t great for me. I lost confidence in my game, but I learned what being a pro was all about. We travelled to Portugal and also to Spain in the preseason, which was a very cool  experience.”

After his time at Real Salt Lake, Luke played for the Portland Timbers, Rochester Rhinos and Carolina Railhawks.  He talked about his experiences in those cities. He found that Portland was ” a great place to play soccer..They have some of the best fans in the country..I really enjoyed my time there. In my first season I was MVP of the team and voted to USL1 All league team, and led the team with 8 goals.  I joined Rochester because they have always been very successful in USL. They have a good fan base and very nice new stadium. I tied the record for the most assists in one season for a Rhinos player with 9. Tied for the most points on the team with 17 for the season on 4 goals and 9 assists.    I went to Carolina because of the coach, Martin Rennie..I heard he was a great coach and person..They have the best facilities. The practice fields and game field are some of the best in the country. It’s a nice place to play and they have a great organization. ”

Now things have come full circle, and Luke is back in the St. Louis area.  “I joined AC because it’s where I am from and where I grew up,” Luke said.  “Soccer is big in St Louis so I hope it continues to grow each year. I have enjoyed my time so far this preseason.  I hope we can put out a solid team that can get in the playoffs.  One thing I want to achieve still as a player is to win a championship.”  Luke brings versatility to the team, because although he is mainly a right midfielder, he has also played as a center midfielder, a forward and a right back professionally.

In his free time Luke enjoys movies and playing cards, and stays active riding, bicycling and playing tennis.  He is a big fan of the St. Louis Cardinals and also roots for the star-studded English team, Chelsea, and his favorite player, Frank Lampard.  Luke is also active in the Son Life Church in Collinsville, where he has been attending all his life.  “My relationship with God is the most important thing in my life,” he added. 

Finally, Luke wasn’t so preoccupied with a new season starting and a new baby coming soon that he overlooked his brother, Tad.  “My brother is 20 years old and plays soccer at University of Evansville.  He is doing well so far in college and I think he has a good chance to go pro.”  Yeah, Tad is doing well.  He scored two goals last Sunday in a spring game against Bellarmine University.
 These are indeed exciting times for Luke Kreamalmeyer, a versatile, experienced professional with a new baby on the way, playing the inaugural season for his hometown team.
One Response

  1. This is a great story about a great guy. Kreamalmeyer did a splendid job setting up the play that led to our PK last night.

Leave a Reply

