• Special Needs Soccer Association

  • Donate Today

    Help out Haiti

  • News and Notes

  • Our August 2nd Podcast

  • Advertisements

US Open Cup Format and Schedule

The following article is being reprinted from the NASL website.

By Goodman Browne/NASL.com Staff Writer

2010 will mark the 97th year of the US Open Cup tournament, now called
the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup, and last week details of the tournament
took form.

The 40-team field will be made up of sides from Major League Soccer
(eight teams), the US Soccer Federation’s Division 2 Pro League (nine
teams), the United Soccer Leagues Second Division (six teams) and USL
Premier Development Leagues (eight teams) as well as teams from the
amateur US Adult Soccer Association (eight teams).  Qualifying for all
spots must be completed by May 31.

The winner of the 2010 US Open Cup get to have their team name placed
on the Dewar Challenge Cup and receive $100,000 for their troubles,
with the runner-up collecting $50,000.

There are also bonuses of $10,000 to the teams that advance the
farthest in the tournament from each of the USSF D-2, USL2, USL PDL
and USASA divisions.

The first two rounds of the tournament (June 15 and 22) will feature
32 teams from USSF D-2, USL2, USL PDL and USASA division in a
knock-out format, with the eight remaining teams going up against the
eight Major League Soccer Qualifiers starting on June 29.

A lone difference in this year’s tournament is that there will be an
amateur play-in game to contest a spot left vacant by there only being
six USL Second Division sides in this years tournament, as opposed to
seven in the 2009 edition.

Two California teams will battle for the 40th spot in the 2010 US Open
Cup; the NPSL Champion Sonoma County Sol will battle the PSA Los Gatos
Storm. The Storm have had a fascinating and unorthodox road leading up
to this years tournament.


May 31: Qualifying deadline

June 15: First round – 32 lower-division teams (USSF D-2, USL-2, amateur)

June 22: Second round – 16 first-round winners

June 29: Third round – Eight second-round winners plus eight MLS teams

July 6 or 7: Quarterfinals – Third-round winners

Aug. 31 or Sept. 1: Semifinals – Quarterfinal winners

Oct. 5: Final – Semifinal winners


Major League Soccer – 8 teams (Division I)

  1. Seattle Sounders (Defending Champions)
  2. Chicago Fire
  3. Chivas USA
  4. Columbus Crew
  5. Houston Dynamo
  6. Los Angeles Galaxy
  7. TBD – Real Salt Lake or DC United
  8. TBD Colorado Rapids or New York Red Bull

USSF Division 2 – 9 teams (Division II)

  1. AC St. Louis
  2. Austin Aztex
  3. Carolina Railhawks
  4. Crystal Palace Baltimore
  5. Miami FC
  6. NSC Minnesota
  7. Portland Timbers
  8. Rochester Rhinos
  9. Tampa Bay Rowdies

USL Second Division – 6 teams (Division III)

  1. Charleston Battery
  2. Charlotte Eagles
  3. Harrisburg City Islanders
  4. Pittsburgh Riverhounds
  5. Real Maryland Monarchs
  6. Richmond Kickers

USL Premier Development League – 8 teams (Amateur)
USASA – 8.5 teams (Amateur)
US Club Soccer – 0.5 teams (Amateur)


3 Responses

  1. Could this mean we might possibly have a home game before June 26? Man, I hope so!!

  2. We sure better! I can’t wait 30 days before having a game…

  3. Several weeks ago it was disclosed to me that AC St. Louis and NSC Minnesota were likely to host first round US Open Cup games. Honestly, I don’t know where that stands at this point….we are trying to find out more. I would love to see an Open Cup game here on June 15.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: