• Special Needs Soccer Association

  • Donate Today

    Help out Haiti

  • News and Notes

  • Our August 2nd Podcast

Troy Cole of AC St. Louis: Happy to be Here

Troy Cole

Troy Cole, a 24 year-old midfielder/defender from Laguna Hills, California, enjoys playing for the AC St. Louis fans.   “Playing soccer in St. Louis has been nothing short of amazing,” Troy said.  “I have been all over the country, but have not seen the type of passion for the game until I came here.  The fans are as loyal as they come and the whole team is grateful for the amount of support we are given.  The energy and atmosphere created by the support groups like the United Knights, Laclede’s Army, and Eads Brigade is unbelievable.  I remember taking a moment after our first win against Crystal Palace Baltimore and seeing the fans giving us a standing ovation.  It is moments like these that make you want to work harder to give the community of St. Louis a professional soccer team that they can root for year after year.” 

Troy became a soccer fan early in life.  He remembers that “I took a liking to soccer as early as 3 years old when I used to watch my older brother play, as well as my father who competed at Castleton State University in college and a series of men’s teams during my childhood.  My father was my coach all the way up until 15 years old and I will always credit a great amount of my success to him.  I would spend hours with him and my older brother in my backyard where we had a full size goal.  Growing up I remember impersonating French superstar Eric Cantona from Manchester United by popping my collars up when I played for SJSC in San Juan Capistrano, California. ” 

Troy also had a unique opportunity when he was a child.  ” During the USA campaign in 1994 World Cup I was lucky enough to live 5 minutes away from the training facilities for the national team.  I remember attending many of their training sessions at the age of 8 and watching my favorite players at the time being Eric Wynalda, John Harkes, Cobi Jones, and Alexi Lalas,” he stated.  That is too cool.  I loved that 1994 USMNT squad. 

After high school, Troy told me that ” I went on to play soccer at Irvine Valley College, which is a competitive soccer program at the junior college level.  I was able to develop physically and as a player here under the coaching of Martin McGrogan, Shaun Harris, and former NASL and MISL player  Laurie Abrahams.  (Irvine Valley College has won two national championships in soccer and Coach McGrogan has been awarded national coach of the year). After my two years at the college was up I received an offer to play soccer for Mars Hill College in North Carolina.  I chose this school amongst a few other local offers to experience life outside of Southern California.  At Mars Hill, I was coached under Scott Donnelly who really developed my belief in becoming a great player.  He was a coach that worked hard in my favor to help me pursue my dream of playing at the next level.”  Troy was captain his senior year at Mars Hill and was an assistant coach for a year after graduating.  Troy also played for the USL Premier Development League FC Atlanta Blackhawks squad in 2009, where the six footer featured at center back and was coached by Massoud Roushandel. 

Troy signed with AC St. Louis after an invitational tryout.  He is very interested in sports and exercise physiology, having gotten his degree in Athletic Training.  Being a native Californian, Troy also enjoys the beach.  And even though we are beachless here in the Midwest, he glad to be here  playing in front of the passionate St. Louis fans.  We’re so glad he’s here, too.

2 Responses

  1. Your the best troy!!!!!”

  2. Hope your leg gets better soon I need you out there playing!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

