• Special Needs Soccer Association

  • Donate Today

    Help out Haiti

  • News and Notes

  • Our August 2nd Podcast

RailHawks’ Captain Out for the Season

From NASL.com website.

Cary, N.C. (Monday, September 13, 2010) RailHawks captain Mark Schulte suffered a season-ending injury last week in practice tearing his anterior cruciate ligament during a scrimmage.

“We were playing 11 v11,” said Schulte. “I went in for a tackle and instead of going down flat a twisted my leg and went down the wrong way.”

“Mark [Schulte] has been our captain and played in almost every game for us,” said RailHawks coach Martin Rennie. “He’s had a significant impact in every team I’ve coached these past four years and I am a little disappointed he won’t be able to finish the season out. We wish him well and we hope he’ll be able to rehab it properly and hopefully come back and play next season.”

Schulte will most likely require surgery and will not return to the pitch this season. Schulte has appeared in 23 matches, with 22 starts, and played a team-leading 2,025 minutes. He has one goal and one assist. He has been a true leader in the locker room as well, motivating the players and guiding them to the current record of 10-8-8.

“I have been really proud to be a part of this team this year,” Schulte continued. “Before my MRI I was vacillating between being pessimist and hopeful about the results but I placed my hope in the Lord and that’s all I can do at this point. The guys have been playing so well since I’ve been out, recording three shutouts, that it doesn’t look like the need me. I will continue to encourage them in the locker room and I believe that if we continue to play like we have been nobody will be able to stop us.”

Schulte also had some words for RailHawks fans.

“We have great fans in this area and I would like to thank them for their support and let them know that our run is not over yet.”

The RailHawks are on the road this week as they play in Minnesota on Wednesday and in Baltimore on Saturday. They return home on Saturday, September 25 to host the Puerto Rico Islanders at 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply

