• Special Needs Soccer Association

  • Donate Today

    Help out Haiti

  • News and Notes

  • Our August 2nd Podcast

The Section 20 Report: 04/17/10 Austin Aztex

Ok, anyone who’s a fan of The 13 Blog knows that I like to name my recurring posts.  So, allow me to introduce you to the first in the series, The Section 20 Report.  Each home match, I’ll have something about the fans, some snaps from my BlackBerry and  hopefully a video of some of the chants.  My apologies for the quality of the photos.  Due to the rowdiness of Section 20, I cannot and will not bring a full on camera, but I’ve done my level best to improve the quality of the photos, but I’m not the greatest photo editor in the world.

The United Knights, Eads Bridgade, and the Day Pints all team up to make it an exciting atmosphere, and if you’re only watching the stream, or on the other side of the pitch, allow me to show you an inside look at our total nuttery.

So, without further delay, let’s get it on!

This week’s post will be a photo essay, there are a goodly number of snaps, so I won’t be saying much about each one.

Season ticket holder scarf.

The match day started for me when I stopped by AB Soccer park to get my season tickets.  I was also given my very own Inaugural Season Ticket Holder scarf.  I wore it proudly.

Getting confetti poppers.

Next off to Party City to get some confetti poppers. I learned we need larger ones though, much larger.

Scotch Eggs

My pregame meal.  I mean, I had to have the energy to bring it didn’t I?  Only problem was that I was hung over and it hurt to yell..I was hoping a slinger, then scotch eggs, then some more beer would fix it, but alas nope.

Mmm..beer.

Well, we have to tie a couple on before getting to the game don’t we? Anheuser Busch Soccer Park only has AB products…so we have a couple good ones then drink the Budweiser Pints.

Eads Brigade Pregame Tailgate.

Here’s a couple of us enjoying free cans of Bud Light at our complimentary, supporters group tailgate tent.  THANKS AC-ST.LOUIS!!

Eads Brigaders!

Here’s a goodly portion of the Eads Brigade, well at least those who were early enough to acquire some free beer.

Eads Brigade

Many folks were proudly wearing their season ticket holder scarves along with their supporters group’s scarf. (Sidenote, if you read this and you attend the matches, you should wear a scarf.)

The United Knights

The United Knights were in full force, and have perhaps the best Supporters Group scarves!

Smoke bombs.

The match is underway, and the smoke has started.

The United Knights’ drummer.

Here we have the drummer for the Knights. At this match there were no less than four drummers and one cowbell player. (For the first half, the cowbell player was me!)

Smoke!

There were less smoke bombs this time, but look at how it just hangs in the air.

Green and Yellow!

This time the United Knights brought green and yellow smoke bombs. How cool is that!

Smoke in the air…

There may not have been as many, but we could see the game a little more clearly this week.

The lead chanter.

The Knights had one of their guys in the front with a bullhorn. He’d start their chants, and sometimes play police sirens. Totally awesome.

Dmelsh smokin’ it down.

After a few chants of “WE WANT SMOKE” by us in Eads Brigade, the Knights started throwing us smoke bombs.

Full house.

It was a packed house to watch our boys.  It was glorious.  Though it did seem that most of the crowd action was in our section.

More smoke on the pitch.

Please indulge me.  I love the smoke bombs.  My wife asked me about them. She said, you can’t see the game when they go off.  Why do you like them so much?

The boys coming to see us.

For the first time in a league match, they came to thank us for our support after the game.

Good kids.

I know it’s a nothing gesture, as in, it takes nothing to do it, but I’m glad to see them coming and thanking us and all the fans in the corner as they exit.

The aftermath…

Now, let me get this off of my chest:

Section 20 is where the rowdies sit.  I know they’re the cheapest tickets and I know it sounds like a better deal to take your children, especially if they don’t know if they like soccer, but I’d really recommend spending the $3 more per ticket to sit in the club section or perhaps in section 8 on the other side of the pitch.  There’s a lot more going on in this section than in most….just trust me on this one.

If you enjoy these posts, please visit The 13 Blog as well for more of my musings.

37 Responses

  1. GREAT STUFF!!! Section 20 for life!!

  2. Well, I’m guessing you’re the fellow in the Wolfsburg kit in the pix. 😀

    Indeed SECTION 20 FOR LIFE! (Or unless they set up a behind the goal section…but then we’ll ask them to call it Section 20!

    Thanks for reading!

    • Yes, that was me. Love your stuff!! Keep it up. Great job

      • Thought so. Not sure if I had the chance to talk to you or not, but you know who I am, so feel free to catch up with me.

        Thank you. I’m working out my next three our four articles yet….I’ve got a good one coming down the pike later on in the week.

        I’ve a 13 Blog review to post, Wednesday, then another AC fan musing here, expect that Thursday or Friday.

  3. Argh…gave up going to the match to be head cook for a friend’s party.

    Anyway- try this confetti:

    http://www.skylighter.com/red-white-blue-confetti-cannon.html

    I got a couple free from them, haven’t tried one yet, but it looks like just the thing!

    Also, these might be the best:

    http://www.starlight.com/confettihand.html

    Or:

    http://www.premierglow.com/Sale_Items.33/confetti_cannons_air_powered.21.html

    (I only have experience with the first site, but the other two have cooler looking stuff)

    • I like those things, but I’m thinking that’s a bit more expensive than I want to go.

      We’ll see what we can find. Thanks!

  4. good write up. keep up the good work and eventually everyone will know that Soccer Park is the place to be on Saturday nights.

  5. *ahem*…you also had us 3 losers in the River City Saints there as well.

    You have Wil and his Giant Head giving you the thumbs up in the “Eads Brigade” picture.

    😀

    • I thought he was in Eads Brigade!

      No fair…you guys need shirts, or scarves or something. I can’t keep everybody separate unless they’re wearing something….I mean…look at me talking…I don’t have any EB paraphenalia yet…but I will!

      Didja see your melon in the video?

      • Didn’t check out the video yet.

        We’d have shirts done and it’d be cool if the 10-20 who were down for the games would go. Showing up with 3 total people in RCS shirts is embarrassing, lol.

      • You need to check out the vid. You’re well represented in it, and it’s just an awesome video.

      • Kyle, CafePress is great for a small number of shirts, stickers, etc. fairly easy to use. I’ve used them for several things- pretty good quality and once you set it up anybody can order.

      • I’m aware of CafePress. Not too fond of their prices to be honest. I work part time doing freelance illustration for a local print shop in my town. I can get good quality T’s at market price.

  6. Cool read.

  7. Y’all are cute. “We love smoke.” Aww, such wonderful sentiment. July, 28 should be fun.

  8. To our good friends from Florida who had some very choice words to say about my write up and our supporters group.

    Thank you for reading my post, and I’m very glad that my fanboy musings inspired such passion in you. That’s what I’m trying to accomplish with my posts, passion.

    Also, we may have the same colors, but we make them look good.

    I hope you continue to read my musings. 🙂

  9. Yeah, You’re supporters group is pretty cool, too bad your team sucks  You’re in last in the standings, also, congrats on being and throwing smoke on the field.  If you’re gonna throw something on the field, don’t be a .  Throw a flare.  

    Its cool that you used the same colors as the Rowdies.  On second thought, no its not.  Your team using the same colors as us is bringing our street cred down, so off.  

    Oh, and a bull horn to get your chants started?  That’s cheating, and not the awesome type, like steroids, shaving points, or paying off the refs.  So get your together and use your big boy voice to get a chant started.   police sirens, you’ve got to be kidding me.  That is bush league.  

    “Oh, look at our shenanigans against Austin!” off with that .

  10. Also, the original again:

    Yeah, You’re supporters group is pretty cool, too bad your team sucks fat EXPLETIVE DELETED.  You’re in last in the standings, also, congrats on being EXPLETIVE DELETED and throwing smoke on the field.  If you’re gonna throw something on the field, don’t be a EXPLETIVE DELETED.  Throw a EXPLETIVE DELETED flare.  

    Its cool that you used the same colors as the Rowdies.  On second thought, no its not.  Your team using the same colors as us is bringing our street cred down, so EXPLETIVE DELETED off.  

    Oh, and a bull horn to get your chants started?  That’s EXPLETIVE DELETED cheating, and not the awesome type, like steroids, shaving points, or paying off the refs.  So get your EXPLETIVE DELETED together and use your big boy voice to get a chant started.  Fucking police sirens, you’ve got to be EXPLETIVE DELETED kidding me.  That EXPLETIVE DELETED is bush league.  

    “Oh, look at our shenanigans against Austin!” EXPLETIVE DELETED off with that EXPLETIVE DELETED.
    [4/20/10 11:40:48 PM] Brett Le Blanc: EXPLETIVE DELETED

    • We’re supposed to take lessons from somebody from freakin’ Florida? AHAHAHAHAHA Go back to the nursing home, Grampa, it’s time for Matlock.

    • Miamisucks, if you really want to be an internet warrior, please list your real email address when you leave vulgar comments. 🙂

    • A Cuban rape your mother of something? Christ your vagina is sandier and more infested with homeless feces than Miami Beach. Calm down, tough guy.

  11. I love Internet Warriors who sought out this blog so they can get all butt hurt we draw 4x their fanbase on accident.

    Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

  12. A troll! from Florida too.
    That’s what happens when you let litle kids get on the internet. It’s the only place they feel safe to say such shit, because you know they can’t do it in person.
    Looking at you Miami Sucks.

    • Now, now my friends.

      Let’s not resort to the 12 year old speak. Let’s use our big boy, adult words and explain to them that using R rated words on a message board, at people who cannot see your face is not only cowardly, but pointless, as we’re just laughing at them.

      Unfortunately, I deleted the other one, and it was even better. It was from a Tampa Bay Rowdies fan, and it was an ESSAY!

      Full of spelling errors, factual errors, and curse words.

      Truly wonderful people.

  13. Great looking support! Keep it up. This is coming from a Timbers supporter as well, the best support in the US. Hopefully you all can make it out this way to PGE for a match. Welcome.

  14. […] put on a professional event for the fans. With over five thousand fans in attendance, including the Knights fan club featured in the photo above, the atmosphere was what St Louis deserves as home to one of the […]

Leave a comment